A car is stolen in Texas every five and a half minutes. More vehicles are stolen between 1:00 and 5:00 a.m. than any other time. In 1998, more than 96,000 vehicles were stolen in Texas. With just a pen and five minutes, you can make it a lot harder for a thief to drive away in your car.

Established by the 72nd Legislature, the Automobile Theft Prevention Authority (ATPA) created the statewide effort for the reduction of vehicle theft. The cost of the program is maintained by a $1 premium assessed of all insurance companies insuring Texas vehicles.

How It Works

Vehicle owners can sign an agreement that their vehicle may be stopped between the hours of 1:00am and 5:00am. If peace officers see a participating vehicle being driven anywhere in Texas during those hours, they may stop the vehicle and verify ownership.

A yellow front decal indicates the owner authorizes the stop of the vehicle between the hours of 1:00am and 5:00am. 

A white front decal indicates that the owner also authorizes stop of the vehicle at any time that the car is used to cross the border from Texas into Mexico.

The rear decal (the circular decal pictured on top of this page) is placed in the lower left portion of the back window of the vehicle so that it is conspicuous to officers, but does not interfere with the driver's field of view. The front stickers (either yellow or white) are placed immediately below the rear-view mirror. From the driver's seat, the front window sticker is barely visible as it is obscured by the window, but it's highly reflective surface can be viewed easily from the outside of the car by peace officers.

 

How do I register?

Port Arthur residents can go to the police department to sign up and have the stickers applied to their vehicle by one of the Investigators in the Auto Theft Division.  

You can also register your vehicle by downloading the registration form from the Texas Department of Public Safety's Website:

http://records.txdps.state.tx.us/heat/

A vehicle owner must present the following information to the police department when they come to register for the program:

Registration is for a period of four years. Registration does not prevent the owner or anyone to whom the owner grants permission from driving the vehicle during the program hours of enforcement. The vehicle owner agrees to advise any other person granted permission to operate the vehicle to do so under the H.E.A.T. registration provisions. The vehicle owner agrees to and understands that peace officers will take certain precautions when making a stop on a registered vehicle during the program hours because of the potential for it to have been stolen.

Once registered, your vehicle information is entered into a statewide database to provide instant, 24-hour information for law enforcement agencies. 

To withdraw from the program, the owner must fully remove the Texas H.E.A.T. decals and notify the registering agency (the Port Arthur Police Department, if you registered in Port Arthur) in writing of such removal. For more information contact:

Detective Earl Boudreaux

(409)983-8645

Detective Mark Holmes

(409)983-8646



Back to Police Programs Page

2001  Port Arthur Police Department, All Rights Reserved