Chief of Police:  Mark Blanton

Division Commander
Deputy Chief John Owens

The Port Arthur Police Department is currently under the command of Chief of Police Mark Blanton.  
Chief Blanton oversees all functions of the department. 
 Deputy Chief Dennis Odom oversees the Field Operations Division.
Deputy Chief Raymond Clark oversees the Criminal Investigations Division
Deputy Chief John Owens oversees the Administration Division. 

Chief's Secretary:  Cyndi Simmons

Secretary/ Payroll Clerk:  Mary Han (409)983-8615


Internal Affairs 



Emergency Management

Internal Affairs Division

Internal Affairs Commander:  Sergeant Ken Carona


The Port Arthur Police Department's Internal Affairs Division is mandated to investigate allegations of misconduct against employees of the Port Arthur Police Department. The Internal Affairs Division has three purposes:

1) Protection of the Public- The public has the right to receive fair, efficient and impartial law enforcement.  Any misconduct by Department Personnel must first be detected, then thoroughly investigated and finally, properly adjudicated to assure maintenance of these qualities.

2) Protection of the Department- The Police Department is often judged and evaluated by the conduct of it's employees.  It is imperative that the whole organization not be criticized because of the misconduct of a few.  An informed public must have confidence that its Police Department honestly and fairly investigates and adjudicates all allegations of misconduct against its employees.

3) Protection of the Employee-  Employees must be protected against false or misinformed allegations of misconduct.      

Complaints against members of the Port Arthur Police Department can be made in person, by phone or by letter.  State Law requires that complaints involving Police Officers be sworn under oath and notarized.  For that reason Internal Affairs attempts to obtain a sworn statement from persons who make complaints against police personnel. The Internal Affairs Division can be contacted at the following address:

Port Arthur Police Department
Internal Affairs Division
P.O. Box 1089
Port Arthur, TX  77641-1089

How Do I Commend An Officer?

Citizens who feel an officer has performed his or her duties in a particularly courteous, helpful or
competent manner may express their appreciation in a number of ways.

Contact any supervisor (in person or by telephone.) 
Write a letter to the Officer's Lieutenant or to:

Chief Mark Blanton
Port Arthur Police Department
P.O. Box 1089
Port Arthur, TX  77641-1089

Training Division

Training Coordinator:  Sgt. Ken Carona

It is essential to keep up with rapid advances in law enforcement technology, to assist in crime fighting and in the manner we provide services to the public.  It is the objective of the Port Arthur Police Department's Training Division to produce highly trained, qualified law enforcement officers to better serve and protect the members of our community.

The Training Division's primary goal is to manage :

  • The research, development, and administration of training at the Port Arthur Police Department, including recruit training, and dispatcher training.

  • The continuing education of all sworn officers. 

  • The utilization of specialized schools and outside agencies for officer training.

  • The compliance of training with the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Education (TCLEOSE), the departments rules, regulations, policies, and procedures. 

  • The preparation of the departments long range training and educational requirements.

  • Maintaining Officers Certification, scheduling schools and keeping up with the Department's training records.





Supervisor: Lieutenant Jon Carona

Sergeant Scott Argo

 The Narcotics Unit is committed to the prevention and suppression of all narcotics related activity including the illegal use, sale, possession, manufacturing, and trafficking of narcotics. Enforcement includes illegal sale, importation and distribution of controlled substances; possession of controlled substances; manufacturing of controlled substances;  organized drug trafficking operations; and conspiracy to commit any of the above listed activities.  The Narcotics Unit is comprised of Six Investigators who are also members of the Jefferson County Narcotics Task Force.  The JCNTF is comprised of members from the Port Arthur, Beaumont, Groves, Nederland, and Port Neches Police Departments and the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department.  The Task Force works to control the Drug Problem in our area.

Back to top

Emergency Management

Emergency Management Coordinator: Deputy Chief John Owens

The Emergency Management Coordinator is responsible for coordinating response and recovery activities during a major emergency or disaster.  The primary role of our Emergency Management Coordinator is to help develop and implement comprehensive disaster planning, mitigation and response activities within the City of Port Arthur and Jefferson County under the provisions of Texas statutes. Additionally, the Coordinator works closely with other local, state and federal Emergency Management Coordinators to help develop and maintain emergency plans for all types of natural and man-made hazards, and provide the analysis and recommendations necessary to make decisions that will effectively save lives and protect property in such emergencies.  

Jefferson County Emergency Management Texas DPS Emergency Management Division
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Jefferson County Local Emergency Planning Committee

Back to PAPD Home Page